Skip to main content
NetApp Knowledge Base

What are the Wafliron phases

Last Updated:

Applies to

  • ONTAP 9
  • Wafliron


The three phases of a Wafliron scan are:

Phase 1: Mount

  • ONTAP mounts the inconsistent WAFL file system.  To allow faster access to clients, Wafliron limits scanning to key metadata.
  • Checks aggregate metadata associated with each FlexVol volume contained in that aggregate, free space metadata, and Snapshot copy sanity.
  • The only status provided during this phase is a message to console logging the start of wafliron. The progress cannot be monitored during this phase.

Phase 2: File system scan

  • Metadata is checked on-demand (based on client access) and also through background scans. 
  • Due to on-demand scanning, users may see increased latency during this phase.
  • Progress can be monitored

Phase 3: Completion

  • Performs clean-up tasks such as:
    • Finding lost blocks
    • Verifying used blocks
    • Deleting status files
    • Marking file system consistent

Additional Information


NetApp provides no representations or warranties regarding the accuracy or reliability or serviceability of any information or recommendations provided in this publication or with respect to any results that may be obtained by the use of the information or observance of any recommendations provided herein. The information in this document is distributed AS IS and the use of this information or the implementation of any recommendations or techniques herein is a customer's responsibility and depends on the customer's ability to evaluate and integrate them into the customer's operational environment. This document and the information contained herein may be used solely in connection with the NetApp products discussed in this document.