Skip to main content
NetApp Knowledge Base

Unable to delete a move generated volume when no volumes appear to be moving

Views:
1,229
Visibility:
Public
Votes:
1
Category:
data-ontap-8
Specialty:
core
Last Updated:

Applies to

  • Data ONTAP 8
  • ONTAP 9

Issue

  • A volume move job may become orphaned if the source volume is deleted out from under it. While the move job will continue to run, the user will not be able to display it through the 'volume move show' command, and the user will be blocked from deleting the destination volume.
  • The user will not see a particular volume participating in a move, but will be prevented from deleting the volume created by the move job:

::> volume offline -volume temp__1032__55__volA
vol offline: Error offlining volume "vs0:temp__1032__55__volA". Unable to set volume attributes for volume "temp__1032__55__volA" on Vserver "vs0". Reason: Volume move in progress

::> volume move show
 This table is currently empty.

Sign in to view the entire content of this KB article.

New to NetApp?

Learn more about our award-winning Support

NetApp provides no representations or warranties regarding the accuracy or reliability or serviceability of any information or recommendations provided in this publication or with respect to any results that may be obtained by the use of the information or observance of any recommendations provided herein. The information in this document is distributed AS IS and the use of this information or the implementation of any recommendations or techniques herein is a customer's responsibility and depends on the customer's ability to evaluate and integrate them into the customer's operational environment. This document and the information contained herein may be used solely in connection with the NetApp products discussed in this document.

 

  • Was this article helpful?