Skip to main content
NetApp Knowledge Base

How to use the Volume Recovery Queue

Views:
41,402
Visibility:
Public
Votes:
28
Category:
ontap-9
Specialty:
CORE
Last Updated:

Applies to

ONTAP 9

Description

A volume delete request against a volume that has type RW or DP (as seen in volume show command output) causes that volume to be moved to a partially deleted state. By default, it is retained in a recovery queue for at least 12 hours before being fully deleted

  • Deleting a FlexGroup volume in ONTAP 9.1 and above will move the member or constituent volumes to the volume recovery queue until the retention period expires.
  • As of 9.7 you can recover deleted volumes using System Manager ONTAP System Manager > Recover deleted volumes

Check Active IQ if this impacts your systems

Sign in to view the entire content of this KB article.

New to NetApp?

Learn more about our award-winning Support

NetApp provides no representations or warranties regarding the accuracy or reliability or serviceability of any information or recommendations provided in this publication or with respect to any results that may be obtained by the use of the information or observance of any recommendations provided herein. The information in this document is distributed AS IS and the use of this information or the implementation of any recommendations or techniques herein is a customer's responsibility and depends on the customer's ability to evaluate and integrate them into the customer's operational environment. This document and the information contained herein may be used solely in connection with the NetApp products discussed in this document.