Skip to main content
NetApp Knowledge Base

Can snapshots that rolled off be recovered?

Views:
233
Visibility:
Public
Votes:
0
Category:
ontap-9
Specialty:
dp
Last Updated:

Applies to

ONTAP 9

Answer

  • No there isn't a way to un-delete a snapshot after it is deleted.
  • When a snapshot roll off based on the retention and snapshot schedule policy, a CBR WAFL scanner immediately runs to delete and reclaim the space

Additional Information

  • Depending on the configuration and timing, the snapshot or data may still be present on the snapmirror destination
  • To prevent snapshots from rolling off, rename them
cluster1::> volume snapshot rename -vserver vs0 -volume vol3 -snapshot vol3_snap -new-name vol3_snap_archive
NetApp provides no representations or warranties regarding the accuracy or reliability or serviceability of any information or recommendations provided in this publication or with respect to any results that may be obtained by the use of the information or observance of any recommendations provided herein. The information in this document is distributed AS IS and the use of this information or the implementation of any recommendations or techniques herein is a customer's responsibility and depends on the customer's ability to evaluate and integrate them into the customer's operational environment. This document and the information contained herein may be used solely in connection with the NetApp products discussed in this document.