Skip to main content
NetApp Knowledge Base

Can I restore an accidently deleted snapshot?

Views:
608
Visibility:
Public
Votes:
0
Category:
snaprestore
Specialty:
DP
Last Updated:

Applies to

  • ONTAP 9.x
  • Write Anywhere File Layout (WAFL)

Answer

  • No, Volume Snapshot deletion is final, as soon you delete a volume SnapShot, WAFL block scanners will start clearing the unreferenced blocks
  • If the Data is very important, and there is no other means of restore, then take the Aggregate offline as soon as possible and contact NetApp Support
  • Please contact NetApp Technical Support or log into the NetApp Support Site to create a case. Reference this article for further assistance.

Additional Information

additionalInformation_text
NetApp provides no representations or warranties regarding the accuracy or reliability or serviceability of any information or recommendations provided in this publication or with respect to any results that may be obtained by the use of the information or observance of any recommendations provided herein. The information in this document is distributed AS IS and the use of this information or the implementation of any recommendations or techniques herein is a customer's responsibility and depends on the customer's ability to evaluate and integrate them into the customer's operational environment. This document and the information contained herein may be used solely in connection with the NetApp products discussed in this document.