Why are SnapMirror snapshots not cleaned up automatically after DR-test or initialization?
Applies to
- ONTAP 9
- SnapMirror
- Storage Virtual Machine Disaster Recovery (SVM DR)
- SnapMirror active sync (formerly SnapMirror Business Continuity, SM-BC)
Answer
- Old baseline snapshots resulting from the reverse resync must be cleaned up (manually deleted) by the storage admin
- This is normal and expected SnapMirror/Snapshot behavior
- Baseline snapshots do not automatically roll-off at any point :
- During reverse resync
- When the relationship is flipped back to its original direction
- During the first synchronization for a newly configured relationship
- During Disaster Recovery related operations, baseline snapshots will not be deleted -- Deleting the snapshots would prevent subsequent updates/resyncs, or require a new baseline transfer to re-establish the SnapMirror.
- After Disaster Recovery is complete and the SVM DR relationship is reestablished: Evaluate whether the additional snapshots are needed, and delete them if they are no longer required. Refer to How to identify and delete unneeded SnapMirror snapshots for information on how to identify and delete these snapshots.
