Skip to main content
NetApp Knowledge Base

How to use the Volume Recovery Queue

Views:
14,586
Visibility:
Public
Votes:
1
Category:
ontap-9
Specialty:
core
Last Updated:

Applies to

  • Clustered Data ONTAP 8.3+
  • ONTAP 9

Description

A volume delete request against a volume that has type RW or DP (as seen in volume show command output) causes that volume to be moved to a partially deleted state. By default, it is retained in a recovery queue for at least 12 hours before being fully deleted. 

Deleting a FlexGroup volume in ONTAP 9.1 and above will move the member or constituent volumes to the volume recovery queue until the retention period expires.

As of 9.7 you can recover deleted volumes using System Manager ONTAP System Manager > Recover deleted volumes

Check Active IQ if this impacts your systems

CUSTOMER EXCLUSIVE CONTENT

Registered NetApp customers get unlimited access to our dynamic Knowledge Base.

New authoritative content is published and updated each day by our team of experts.

Current Customer or Partner?

Sign In for unlimited access

New to NetApp?

Learn more about our award-winning Support

 

******************************************************* *******************************************************