Skip to main content
NetApp Knowledge Base

Can snapshots be auto-deleted during 'vol move' if autodelete is enabled?

Views:
136
Visibility:
Public
Votes:
0
Category:
ontap-9
Specialty:
core
Last Updated:

Applies to

ONTAP 9

Answer

  • The non-locked snapshots, like a customer created or creates by schedule, will be auto-deleted if the auto-delete threshold is exceeded.
  • App locked snapshots, like a snapmirror base, for vol move or for clone, are protected from auto-delete.
  • Keep enough free space or temporarily disable auto-delete, to avoid being auto-deleted during a vol move.

Additional Information

additionalInformation_text

 

NetApp provides no representations or warranties regarding the accuracy or reliability or serviceability of any information or recommendations provided in this publication or with respect to any results that may be obtained by the use of the information or observance of any recommendations provided herein. The information in this document is distributed AS IS and the use of this information or the implementation of any recommendations or techniques herein is a customer's responsibility and depends on the customer's ability to evaluate and integrate them into the customer's operational environment. This document and the information contained herein may be used solely in connection with the NetApp products discussed in this document.