Skip to main content
NetApp Knowledge Base

What's the share-level permission

Last Updated:

Applies to

  • ONTAP 9
  • Cluster Data ONTAP 8


  • When a CIFS user tries to access a share, ONTAP always checks the share-level permission to determine whether access should be granted.
  • A share-level permission consists of a list of access control entries (ACEs). Each ACE contains a user or group name and a set of permissions that determines user or group access to the share.
  • The following are the different share-level permissions:
Read View files and subdirectories. Execute applications. No changes can be made.
Change Includes read permissions and the ability to add, delete or change files or subdirectories.
Full Control Can perform any and all functions on all files and folders within the share.

Additional Information

NetApp provides no representations or warranties regarding the accuracy or reliability or serviceability of any information or recommendations provided in this publication or with respect to any results that may be obtained by the use of the information or observance of any recommendations provided herein. The information in this document is distributed AS IS and the use of this information or the implementation of any recommendations or techniques herein is a customer's responsibility and depends on the customer's ability to evaluate and integrate them into the customer's operational environment. This document and the information contained herein may be used solely in connection with the NetApp products discussed in this document.