Skip to main content
NetApp Knowledge Base

How to restore a volume from a snaptshot without overwriting existing data

Views:
331
Visibility:
Public
Votes:
0
Category:
ontap-9
Specialty:
CORE
Last Updated:

Applies to

  • ONTAP 9
  • Snapshots

Description

  • When performing a volume restore from a snapshot, any changes made to the volume after the snapshot was generated are lost. This KB provided a way to preserve the data in the volume should newer data need to be preserved. 
  • See here for more details: Restoring a volume from a Snapshot copy

 

 

Sign in to view the entire content of this KB article.

New to NetApp?

Learn more about our award-winning Support

NetApp provides no representations or warranties regarding the accuracy or reliability or serviceability of any information or recommendations provided in this publication or with respect to any results that may be obtained by the use of the information or observance of any recommendations provided herein. The information in this document is distributed AS IS and the use of this information or the implementation of any recommendations or techniques herein is a customer's responsibility and depends on the customer's ability to evaluate and integrate them into the customer's operational environment. This document and the information contained herein may be used solely in connection with the NetApp products discussed in this document.