Skip to main content
NetApp Knowledge Base

Will ONTAP delete old snapshots from an existing CG if new CG is created?

Views:
44
Visibility:
Public
Votes:
0
Category:
snapmirror
Specialty:
DP
Last Updated:

Applies to

  • ONTAP 9
  • Consistency Group (CG)
  • Snapmirror

Answer

  • No, a snapshot created by an old CG will not deleted/over-written by neither ONTAP/new CG creation
  • Also deletion of old CG group will not delete the snapshots.
NetApp provides no representations or warranties regarding the accuracy or reliability or serviceability of any information or recommendations provided in this publication or with respect to any results that may be obtained by the use of the information or observance of any recommendations provided herein. The information in this document is distributed AS IS and the use of this information or the implementation of any recommendations or techniques herein is a customer's responsibility and depends on the customer's ability to evaluate and integrate them into the customer's operational environment. This document and the information contained herein may be used solely in connection with the NetApp products discussed in this document.