Skip to main content
NetApp Knowledge Base

FAQ: SANtricity Snapshot feature

Views:
255
Visibility:
Public
Votes:
0
Category:
e-series-santricity-os-controller-software
Specialty:
esg
Last Updated:

Applies to

  • SANtricity OS
  • Snapshot

Answer

  • What if reserved repository alert threshold is reached?
Failure entry as below is seen on Recovery Guru, but snapshot images won't be purged:
 
Failure Entry 1: PIT_GROUP_REPOSITORY_OVER_THRESHOLD-Recovery Failure Type Code: 405
Storage array: array1
Base volume: volume1
Snapshot group: SG
Status: Over Threshold
Used repository capacity: 9,216 GB (90%)
Remaining repository capacity: 1,024 GB (10%)
Repository alert threshold: 75%
 
  • What if reserved capacity is full?
Depends on the setting of Policy for full reserved capacity:
Purge oldest snapshot image (Recommended): Snapshot images are purged if reserved capacity is full. Reads and writes to base volume are not impacted.
Reject writes to base volume (keep snapshot images valid): Writes to base volume fail but snapshot images are kept. Reads to base volume are not impacted.
SANtricity Snapshot feature
 
  • Is a purged snapshot image consuming space in reserved capacity?
No. See below information in SNAPSHOT IMAGES section in file STORAGE-ARRAY-PROFILE of a Support Bundle for example, the Repository Usage of Purged images are Not applicable:
 
Timestamp                Type      Status     Associated Element     Associated Snapshot Volumes     Creation Method     Repository Usage
3/1/23, 8:00:00 PM UTC   Standard  Purged     DAILY                  Not applicable                  Scheduled           Not applicable
3/2/23, 8:00:00 PM UTC   Standard  Purged     DAILY                  Not applicable                  Scheduled           Not applicable
3/3/23, 8:00:00 PM UTC   Standard  Optimal    DAILY                  Not applicable                  Scheduled           1234 GB
3/4/23, 8:00:00 PM UTC   Standard  Optimal    DAILY                  Not applicable                  Scheduled           5678 GB
 
  • Can the base volume be rollback using a purged image?
No. Data within a purged image has been deleted, rollback using the image is impossible.
NetApp provides no representations or warranties regarding the accuracy or reliability or serviceability of any information or recommendations provided in this publication or with respect to any results that may be obtained by the use of the information or observance of any recommendations provided herein. The information in this document is distributed AS IS and the use of this information or the implementation of any recommendations or techniques herein is a customer's responsibility and depends on the customer's ability to evaluate and integrate them into the customer's operational environment. This document and the information contained herein may be used solely in connection with the NetApp products discussed in this document.