Skip to main content
NetApp Knowledge Base

Is it expected behavior for volume offline logs to be seen during volume move?

Views:
20
Visibility:
Public
Votes:
0
Category:
ontap-9
Specialty:
CORE
Last Updated:

Applies to

  • ONTAP 9
  • Volume Move

Answer

  • Yes, this is expected behavior
  • During a volume move, a new temporary volume is created on the destination aggregate to copy the existing data
  • After the data is copied, the temp volume is brought online and the name is changed to match the original volume name
  • After this, the source volume is taken offline, destroyed and the volume move completes
  • This is all captured in ONTAP logs and will generate alerts only if ONTAP has been manually configured to do so
  • These events do not directly indicate any disruption as volume move operations are designed to be non-disruptive

Additional Information

additionalInformation_text
NetApp provides no representations or warranties regarding the accuracy or reliability or serviceability of any information or recommendations provided in this publication or with respect to any results that may be obtained by the use of the information or observance of any recommendations provided herein. The information in this document is distributed AS IS and the use of this information or the implementation of any recommendations or techniques herein is a customer's responsibility and depends on the customer's ability to evaluate and integrate them into the customer's operational environment. This document and the information contained herein may be used solely in connection with the NetApp products discussed in this document.