Skip to main content
NetApp Knowledge Base

Can remaining VMware Snapshot be deleted created by SCV backup job?

Views:
Visibility:
Public
Votes:
0
Category:
snapcenter
Specialty:
snapx
Last Updated:

Applies to

SnapCenter Plug-in for VMware vSphere (SCV)

Answer

Yes.
When SCV takes backup with enabling VM consistency policy, VMware Snapshot is created temporarily.
This temporary snapshot is usually deleted immediately, but if it remains for some reason, it will not be used and can be deleted. 

Additional Information

The information on it can be seen from Manage Snapshots in vSphere Client is as follows:
  • NameSCV__<VM_UUID>
  • Description: VSC Backup and Recovery created VMware Snapshot
NetApp provides no representations or warranties regarding the accuracy or reliability or serviceability of any information or recommendations provided in this publication or with respect to any results that may be obtained by the use of the information or observance of any recommendations provided herein. The information in this document is distributed AS IS and the use of this information or the implementation of any recommendations or techniques herein is a customer's responsibility and depends on the customer's ability to evaluate and integrate them into the customer's operational environment. This document and the information contained herein may be used solely in connection with the NetApp products discussed in this document.