Skip to main content
NetApp Knowledge Base

Why Snapshot Autodelete settings affect SnapCenter snapshots

Views:
655
Visibility:
Public
Votes:
0
Category:
snapcenter
Specialty:
snapx
Last Updated:

 

Applies to

  • SnapCenter (SC) 4.1 and higher
  • Snapshot autodelete enabled on volume(s)
  • SnapCenter Plug-in for VMware vSphere

Answer

Having Snapshot autodelete enabled can cause:

  • retention issues as it will delete the snapshots before SC can rename them
  • SC repository (NDB database) issues

To disable the setting:

"volume snapshot autodelete modify -vserver <vserver_name> -volume <volume_name> -enabled false"

Additional Information

Snapshot autodelete settings found here:

  • ASUP - VOL-STATUS-V
  • TYPE "volume snapshot autodelete show -vserver <vserver_name> -volume <volume_name>"

 

NetApp provides no representations or warranties regarding the accuracy or reliability or serviceability of any information or recommendations provided in this publication or with respect to any results that may be obtained by the use of the information or observance of any recommendations provided herein. The information in this document is distributed AS IS and the use of this information or the implementation of any recommendations or techniques herein is a customer's responsibility and depends on the customer's ability to evaluate and integrate them into the customer's operational environment. This document and the information contained herein may be used solely in connection with the NetApp products discussed in this document.