Skip to main content
NetApp Knowledge Base

Unassigning E-Series volume from single host which uassigned the volume from all the host in the cluster

Views:
51
Visibility:
Public
Votes:
2
Category:
e-series-systems
Specialty:
esg
Last Updated:

Applies to

E-Series systems

Answer

  • Unassigning a volume depends on how the volume was initially assigned (either to the whole cluster or to individual hosts).
  • If we assaign a volume to a host cluster, then the volume can be accessed by all the hosts in the cluster.
  • Similarly, if we want to unassign a volume from the single host [which is assaigned to whole host cluster initially] then it is not possible to unassign the volume from single host only and the volume will be unassigned from whole cluster.
  • Also, if the host is removed from the cluster, it will lose access from all the assigned volumes in that cluster.

Additional Information

Unassign volumes

 

NetApp provides no representations or warranties regarding the accuracy or reliability or serviceability of any information or recommendations provided in this publication or with respect to any results that may be obtained by the use of the information or observance of any recommendations provided herein. The information in this document is distributed AS IS and the use of this information or the implementation of any recommendations or techniques herein is a customer's responsibility and depends on the customer's ability to evaluate and integrate them into the customer's operational environment. This document and the information contained herein may be used solely in connection with the NetApp products discussed in this document.