Skip to main content

This Site will be down for up to 3 hours on December 2, 2023 from 8 PM - 11 PM PST, to deploy an infrastructure update.

NetApp Knowledge Base

What are the types of reboots and their differences on E-Series controllers?

Last Updated:


Applies to

  • E2600
  • E2700
  • E2800
  • E5400
  • E5500
  • E5600
  • E5700
  • EF280
  • EF540
  • EF550
  • EF560
  • EF570


Soft Reboot
  • Only reboots the processor and is the default reboot method
  • Runs through firmware and does not issue a Power On Self Test (POST)
  • Command example:


Hard Reboot
  • Resets the entire board
  • Bypasses normal reboot hooks in the code
  • Runs through firmware and does not issue a POST
  • Command example:


Hard Power on Event
  • Only occurs when power is interrupted (power loss, powering off the controller)
  • Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA) registers are reset
  • E-Series Controllers determine if a hard power on event occurred by checking the FPGA registers during Start-of-Day (SOD)
  • Issues a POST

Additional Information



NetApp provides no representations or warranties regarding the accuracy or reliability or serviceability of any information or recommendations provided in this publication or with respect to any results that may be obtained by the use of the information or observance of any recommendations provided herein. The information in this document is distributed AS IS and the use of this information or the implementation of any recommendations or techniques herein is a customer's responsibility and depends on the customer's ability to evaluate and integrate them into the customer's operational environment. This document and the information contained herein may be used solely in connection with the NetApp products discussed in this document.
Scan to view the article on your device