Skip to main content
NetApp Knowledge Base

Can I instantaneously delete an NVE volume encryption key without deleting the volume?

Views:
235
Visibility:
Public
Votes:
2
Category:
ontap-9
Specialty:
core
Last Updated:

Applies to

ONTAP 9

Answer

  • The volume encryption key is deleted with the volume until the volume's retention period expires.
  • The retention period is a standard ONTAP volume feature.
  • Until the retention period expires, the data remains encrypted on disk.

 

NetApp provides no representations or warranties regarding the accuracy or reliability or serviceability of any information or recommendations provided in this publication or with respect to any results that may be obtained by the use of the information or observance of any recommendations provided herein. The information in this document is distributed AS IS and the use of this information or the implementation of any recommendations or techniques herein is a customer's responsibility and depends on the customer's ability to evaluate and integrate them into the customer's operational environment. This document and the information contained herein may be used solely in connection with the NetApp products discussed in this document.