Skip to main content
NetApp Knowledge Base

Can I instantaneously delete an NAE aggregate encryption key without deleting the NAE volumes?

Views:
173
Visibility:
Public
Votes:
2
Category:
not set
Specialty:
CORE
Last Updated:

Applies to

ONTAP 9

Answer

  • For an NAE volume, when the volume is deleted, nothing is done from the key perspective.
  • The aggregate keys will continue to exist until the point there exists at least one volume of any type (NVE or NAE) in the aggregate.
  • The aggregate keys are deleted upon last volume deletion after the retention period expires. If an NAE volume is created again, the aggregate keys are newly created again. These keys will be different than the set of keys that previously existed on this aggregate. 

 

NetApp provides no representations or warranties regarding the accuracy or reliability or serviceability of any information or recommendations provided in this publication or with respect to any results that may be obtained by the use of the information or observance of any recommendations provided herein. The information in this document is distributed AS IS and the use of this information or the implementation of any recommendations or techniques herein is a customer's responsibility and depends on the customer's ability to evaluate and integrate them into the customer's operational environment. This document and the information contained herein may be used solely in connection with the NetApp products discussed in this document.