Skip to main content
NetApp Knowledge Base

Will my audit files get deleted if MDV volumes are removed?

Views:
802
Visibility:
Public
Votes:
0
Category:
ontap-9
Specialty:
core
Last Updated:

Applies to

  • ONTAP 9
  • Metadata Volume (MDV)

Answer

Removing MDV staging volumes does not mean that audit logs will be deleted. ONTAP will only delete the metadata inside those volumes.
There is a consolidation task that runs and makes sure that all current audit files are processed and moved to the destination before the metadata volume is deleted.

 

Scan to view the article on your device