Skip to main content
NetApp adopts Microsoft’s Business-to-Customer (B2C) Identity Management
Effective December 3 - NetApp adopts Microsoft’s Business-to-Customer (B2C) identity management to simplify and provide secure access to NetApp resources. For accounts that did not pre-register (prior to Dec 3) access to your NetApp data may take up to 1 hour as your legacy NSS ID is synchronized to the new B2C identity. To learn more, Read the FAQ and Watch the video. Need assistance? Complete this form and select “Registration Issue” as the Feedback Category. 
NetApp Knowledge Base

Unable to delete old root volumes after root volume migration

Views:
174
Visibility:
Public
Votes:
0
Category:
ontap-9
Specialty:
core
Last Updated:

Applies to

ONTAP 9

Issue

  • After performing root volume migration, the old root volumes tagged to node vserver are still seen in the list:

Example: 

Cluster::> vol show -vserver node-01
Vserver   Volume       Aggregate    State      Type       Size  Available Used%
--------- ------------ ------------ ---------- ---- ---------- ---------- -----
node-01   TEMPROOT         -           -        RW          -          -      -
node-01   node01_root      -           -        RW          -          -      -
node-01   new_root    node01_root     online    RW    348.6GB    272.2GB    17%
3 entries were displayed.

  • From the above example, the root volume currently active is "new_root" and the remaining volumes shown are old ones, which can be removed. However, deletion of these volumes fails, as they are stale entries and have no vservers tagged to them.

 

CUSTOMER EXCLUSIVE CONTENT

Registered NetApp customers get unlimited access to our dynamic Knowledge Base.

New authoritative content is published and updated each day by our team of experts.

Current Customer or Partner?

Sign In for unlimited access

New to NetApp?

Learn more about our award-winning Support