Skip to main content
NetApp Knowledgebase

Snapshots - changing the snapshot policy may result in losing snapshots in the next scheduled run

Views:
196
Visibility:
Public
Votes:
0
Category:
ontap-9
Specialty:
core
Last Updated:

Applies to

  • ONTAP 9.x
  • Clustered Data ONTAP 8.3
  • Clustered Data ONTAP 8.2

Issue

When changing the snapshot policy of a volume, the following prompt is displayed:

vol modify -vserver <vserver_name> -volume <volume_name> -snapshot-policy <snapshot_policy_name>

Example:

::> vol modify -vserver smsql -volume smsqlpri -snapshot-policy Newpolicy
Warning: You are changing the Snapshot policy on volume smsqlpri to Newpolicy. Any Snapshot copies on this volume from the previous policy will not be deleted by this new Snapshot policy.
Do you want to continue? {y|n}:

The message implies that all current snapshots will remain, but this is not the case. The message says that snapshots will not be deleted 'immediately;' but once the new schedule starts, all snapshots will adhere to the new policy if the naming convention stays the same.

What can occur:

  • If the new retention rule allows more snapshots per hourly, weekly, or monthly schedule, then nothing will happen.
  • If the new retention rule decreases the number of snapshots, then upon the next scheduled run, you will lose the older snapshots based on the new retention limit.
CUSTOMER EXCLUSIVE CONTENT

Registered NetApp customers get unlimited access to our dynamic Knowledge Base.

New authoritative content is published and updated each day by our team of experts.

Current Customer or Partner?

Sign In for unlimited access

New to NetApp?

Learn more about our award-winning Support