Skip to main content
NetApp Knowledge Base

How to remove "Everyone" from the file level permissions at the top level of a volume

Views:
699
Visibility:
Public
Votes:
0
Category:
data-ontap-8
Specialty:
nas
Last Updated:

Applies to

  • Data ONTAP 8.2 7-Mode 
  • Data ONTAP 8.1 7-Mode  
  • Data ONTAP 7 and earlier 

Description

When a volume is created, the 'Everyone' group is added by default to the security permissions. As a result, these permissions get propagated down to sub-folders as they are created. This causes inconvenience when modifying security permissions on folders, as each folder must be maintained. It is best practice to remove the 'Everyone' group as per Microsoft's recommendation.

 

Sign in to view the entire content of this KB article.

New to NetApp?

Learn more about our award-winning Support

Scan to view the article on your device