Can I instantaneously delete an NAE aggregate encryption key without deleting the NAE volumes?
- For an NAE volume, when the volume is deleted, nothing is done from the key perspective.
- The aggregate keys will continue to exist until the point there exists at least one volume of any type (NVE or NAE) in the aggregate.
- The aggregate keys are deleted upon last volume deletion after the retention period expires. If an NAE volume is created again, the aggregate keys are newly created again. These keys will be different than the set of keys that previously existed on this aggregate.
FAQ: NetApp Volume Encryption and NetApp Aggregate Encryption