Skip to main content
NetApp Knowledge Base

Is it safe to offline or delete MDV_CRS volumes?

Views:
1,363
Visibility:
Public
Votes:
0
Category:
snapmirror
Specialty:
dp
Last Updated:

Applies to

  • ONTAP 9
  • SVMDR
  • MetroCluster

Answer

  • No; offlining or deleting MDV_CRS volumes can result in all SVM-DR or MetroCluster relationships failing to and from the cluster in question. Offlining or deleting MDV_CRS volumes can result in failures to configure and utilize the local cluster. This includes failures in modifying volume properties and even client-side protocol failures and outages.
  • MDV_CRS volumes are used for the Configuration Replication Service which is used in MetroCluster and SVM-DR (vserver disaster recovery) configurations.
  • MDV_CRS volumes are created and managed by ONTAP and cannot be created manually. It may be impossible to online an MDV_CRS volume which has been made offline or to re-create a deleted MDV_CRS volume.

 

  • If you have MDV_CRS volumes blocking operations, causing other issues, or if you have inadvertently deleted an MDV_CRS volume, contact NetApp Technical Support for assistance.

Additional Information

additionalInformation_text