Skip to main content

NetApp_Insight_2020.png 

NetApp Knowledgebase

Why Snapshot Autodelete settings affect SnapCenter snapshots

Views:
119
Visibility:
Public
Votes:
0
Category:
snapcenter
Specialty:
snapx
Last Updated:

 

Applies to

  • SnapCenter (SC) 4.1 and higher
  • Snapshot autodelete enabled on volume(s)

Answer

Having Snapshot autodelete enabled can cause:

  • retention issues as it will delete the snapshots before SC can rename them
  • SC repository (NDB database) issues

To disable the setting:

"volume snapshot autodelete modify -vserver <vserver_name> -volume <volume_name> -enabled false"

Additional Information

Snapshot autodelete settings found here:

  • ASUP - VOL-STATUS-V
  • TYPE "volume snapshot autodelete show -vserver <vserver_name> -volume <volume_name>"